Old man looking for new life!

I have just made it passed 60 days and I am just baffled at times when my own family wants to throw me under the bus about my sobriety,
I have not had 60 days clean in over a decade.
But I am really determined as a 52 year old addict to know what it feels like to have some years of clean time in my life!
I am encouraged one day at a time, and I find strength in rooms like this!
It has not been easy, I quit smoking cigarettes, drinking alcohol and drugs all at the same time!
I had been using since the age of 16 years old
I hear the stories of some who reach that one year and think to myself that it is possible for me too.
Excited and tired at the same time, but yet I am encouraged to continue this new journey!
Thanks for listening

31 Likes

Hi there! Well done for your 60 days and more :tada:
My doc is alcohol and I’m more then 1 year sober now. You definitely can do that too!
I’m here every day and that helps me a lot!
I’m almost 52 just like you, but not consider myself as old :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:
Keep on trucking! :facepunch:

18 Likes

Good for you on your 60 days!! I know it can be challenging to recreate your life after 50 (I am coming up on 59), especially after drinking and drugs for more than 40 years, but it can be done. I never thought I would be able to stop I tried and couldn’t do it so many times. But bit by bit it added up and I learned what worked and what didn’t for me.

Family isn’t always so supportive in the beginning. A lot of times because they have heard us say we wanted change b4 and seen us not change. Keeping my focus on myself and my sobriety helped me show my family over time that I could and did change. And helped me gain confidence and peace of mind.

Keep moving forward and welcome!!

13 Likes

im 67 and im still young

16 Likes