Pity party

So. Today I hit my 1 year no drinking mark. And I feel kinda let down like how you feel after coming back from a vacation. It so weird. I couldn’t imagine this day a year or 6 months ago and now that’s it’s here and it’s just another day I’m kinda feeling depressed. I’m a small business owner and I recently had someone tell me that I should not be so open about my recovery because it might turn clients away. It really upset me because I want to fight the stigma of alcoholism by being open and honest. I can’t believe I let that person get in my head though and now I’m second guessing how I go about my day. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not like bragging about being in recovery all the time, but if the subject comes up, I talk about my situation.
Ugh. Anyways. Just venting. Hope everyone else is doing great!

19 Likes

Stay true to how you feel and the persons opinion will soon fade away…I’m getting closer to one year myself and I know that a lot of people find it somewhat of a let down…so I’m trying to avoid that situation…thanks for helping me with that. Keep getting at it…today is the only day that matters

4 Likes

Most important thing first…
CONGRATULATIONS!!!
And thank you so much for sharing this. Really.
Today may in fact be just another day in the grand scheme of things. But 1 year of no drinking is not an easy achievement. Be proud of yourself. I have no idea who you are, but I am proud of you.
Something that I have learned in my life is that most of my struggles aren’t even a blip on the vast majority of people’s radars. Most people don’t give a damn and when they get a small glimpse of something I struggle with they insert their own personal opinions…most of which have NOTHING to do with me. And that’s ok. I let those opinions go.
To echo what @dot.dot.dot said, have a great day. You’ve earned it.