Shame comes in waves

As day 7 lands I was hoping to give myself a little round of applause to notice a week dry. Instead I gathered about 3 hrs sleep, I sat up for most of the night being hit by waves of realisation of the layers of damage that I have done over the years. The compulsive lying, stealing and all of the friendships and relationships that have collapsed. All of this I have been carrying around with me and now that the booze is gone the behaviour that came hand in hand with it is coming apart. Alcohol is a terrific wall to hide behind and now that it is fading the middle of the night is where the booze ghosts are visiting. I have been using prescribed anti-depressants for four years and therapy has helped me literally stay alive on a few occasions, these things do help.

I know that life now is about moving forward and looking up and I have been very encouraged by reading the various conversations that have been going on here. But I am very suddenly aware that I really should go back and attempt to sweep up some of the mess that I made in the past. I was brought up by a compulsive liar and an alcoholic and this pattern of behaviour is very deep in my core. I can blame my parents for providing me with a very flawed set of habits but I can’t abdicate responsibility for my actions. Before xmas my father came to visit for the first time in a couple of years and I was shocked at how far the apple hadn’t fallen from the tree…My attempts to not become my parents have radically failed.