Sober tool kit

What is your go to thing in your keeping sober tool kit? I am working on mine, I am new to this and want go get some ideas on helping me stay sober.

4 Likes

Daily self-care list that I print out and check-off each day (or at least weekdays) This is my latest one. I usually only hit about 70-80% of it, but it’s better than 10% when I was drinking!

Daily self-care list:

▪	Morning weigh-in
▪	Shower and shave first thing in the morning
▪	Take my daily vitamins & supplements. (Use a daily AM/PM pill organizer)
▪	Track my calories (I target 1700-1800 daily)
▪	Block off at least 3-4 hours for productive job-search / skill-building activities, try for more
▪	Walk or bike for 20-30 minutes at some point
▪	Stay connected with family, and reach out to one other person daily
▪	Spend time on the forum (but not too much!)
▪	Read recovery-related book or other resource for 30 minutes 
▪	Attend at least two AA meetings per week
▪	Aim for 6-8 hours sleep upstairs in actual bed
4 Likes
  • Good quality sleep
  • Getting up early in the morning (5am)
  • Working out in the gym
  • Vegan Diet
  • Hard Work
  • Running
  • Reading books
  • Music
  • Water
  • Friends and family (no isolation)
  • Gaming
3 Likes

Plan, plan, plan. Most people don’t relapse bc they choose to. They relapse bc something triggers or ambushes them.

To deal w triggers, know what they are and avoid any and all that you can. For that you need a plan. If it’s your fave liquor store, plan a different route home.

Have a plan for ambushes. Getting a call from an old drinking buddy, or when someone offers a drink or when you feel like you can handle a situation or possible temptation and can’t.

I had to change a lot of things. My residence, my roommate, my social circle, my fave restaurants even.

Have a plan, then have Plan b when the oroginalplan fall apart.

Plan, plan, plan.
Best,
Chandler

3 Likes

So many great tools here. Great question.