Starting this AA thing

I’m showering and then hitting my second meeting. I hear I’ll get a token today. I’m 34. Rarerlt ever drank until the past 2 years. 1-2 days a week binge drinking.

13 Likes

Hell yes. Have you had a peek at the AA book or the 12 steps and 12 traditions also?

I’m still fairly new to AA, but it’s done me a lot of good. The first couple meetings were awkward, but I mean… I didn’t have much idea what to expect. (Frankly, I didn’t care. They were doing/had something I didn’t, so I just gave it time.)

There’s a lot of healing there I never found trying to do things on my own. Not the least of which was the people themselves who were both wise and weirdly hilarious!

6 Likes

AA has changed me. I actually havent gotten a chip…I dont think I have ever said how many days I have been sober. Regardless, it is a great program

6 Likes

I did actually browse through some of it online when I googled what “big book” meant for the different meetings on the schedule they gave ne last night. I’m going to try a couple different ones at different times to see where I best fit. I’m not even remotely religious, so I’m looking to find some like minded people to find a sponsor that won’t tell me to pray about it. I think that will annoy me more than help me. But the women who helped me last night were so wonderful and on the back of my schedule I found 22 phone numbers! Lol!

4 Likes

Yeah. By and large there’s a lot of hang up on the religious part. I prefer “higher power” to “god” in speaking. The folks I met there are respectful of that, many not having what I’d call a religious God themselves.