Strugglin'

Decided to stay sober last week. Went to the bar with the hubby, friends and a little family. At dinner i asked what they had for N/A options and they only had root beer or Heineken. The waitress came off genuine but the vibe was she was really weird about it…at one point I almost said screw it and almost ordered a vodka cran or a Manhattan because I felt embarrassed ordering NA. Then went to a 1920s party and they had TONS of NA options! But obviously at a bar there are drunkards. I’d see them leave with keys in hand. Stumbling everywhere. Slurring their words. Etc
I envied them but at the same time there was pity. Idk what to do with these two conflicting feelings. Everyone around me drinks. I work as a bartender/barista and so it’s everywhere. I like how whiskey is my friend, but deep down, it’s my enemy and the temptation is all around me.
Thank you for reading my rant of confusion and frustration :purple_heart:idk what my whole point of this post is. But I guess the struggle was there tonight and I’m working on sobriety and a lot of mental health focuses and I guess I’m reaching out? I’ve always been the one helping others and being the one people rely on, so maybe it’s good to vent and reach out? And maybe ask for words of encouragement?

10 Likes

Suzy,

The conflicting feelings is a natural thing. You have to remember your brain is programmed at the minute to have a drink. Like everything it takes time, conscious effort and will power. Temptations will seem to be around you more and more because you are trying to avoid them. There’s no way of avoiding all triggers, especially if it is part of your job. All you can do is remain committed, the days go by and even though it’s never easier your brain processes the thoughts easier and you don’t feel as conscious with your thoughts not to use they just start coming more naturally.

Alcohol convinces a person that it is somehow the solution when in fact it is the problem. It’s a cunning thing.