Tempted Every Day

I’m new to this whole addict in recovery thing. I still haven’t even told anybody I’m an addict. I’m almost 40 days sober now though and it’s always a struggle not to go pick up a case of beer and drink all night.

My girlfriend thinks I’m just taking a break from drinking and doesn’t actually think I’m serious when I’ve told her I wait drinking. Her brother is coming over for the weekend and he may want to have some beers. The problem as with all alcoholics is that there’s no moderation for me.

It also doesn’t help lately that I’ve been feeling irritated. My girlfriend seems to always be barking at me for stupid stuff and she claims I’m snapping at her. This might be the wrong group to talk about this though lol
I’m struggling right now though not to go buy that case of beer though and start chugging them back.

Over the past year I’ve been trying to study Buddhism as a way of coping with depression and anxiety and I’m trying to use it to help with my recovery as well. I’m really trying hard to use meditation too to help me fight the urge to drink and to be mindful and just take everything day by day.

I haven’t been to any AA meetings yet either and I’m debating on that too because I just don’t know.

I guess my biggest thing right now is fighting the urge to drink. I’ve been fighting with myself all day about going to the beer store. I even thought to myself “what the hell? I can start over tomorrow or next week!” I never knew quitting drinking would actually be so hard.

Anybody have any advice for this struggling guy?

2 Likes