The Company you Keep

Hello everyone,

I am newly sober from alcohol (have had my times of hitting reset but this is my consistent streak and it feels amazing!) and this app has helped significantly. This community is strong, motivating, and so tenacious. So much love here.

Here’s my question:

To the sober vets and the newbies like myself, when/how did you handle being around others that were partaking while you’re living the sober lifestyle? I am in my mid 20’s and enjoy the social life which comes with alcohol in many situations. I do participate in non-alcohol related activities of course but when it comes to socializing or spending time at a friend’s house, alcohol is something that arises. Of course the temptation is there and I’m new to saying no, and I have friends that are supportive. Long story short; I would just like insight on staying sober early on while still maintaining a normal social life.

14 Likes

For me, and I do have 2 decades on you, when I went sober I cut everything with alcohol out of my life. My true friends accepted it and we continued to do things with out alcohol…and ended up having better times. Those that weren’t my friends, didnt underatand and moved on with out me. Eventually…9ish months maybe, i slowly entered into controlled situations where there was drinking. What I found…most of those situations/ events…I dont like anymore

11 Likes

New to sobriety here. I still keep my non sober friends around and we support each other. I’m not cutting them out because we are chosen family—I’ve also done a pretty good job of weeding out fake and disingenuous friends from my life during the lockdown and now all my friends are tried and true. They know my boundaries and they hold me accountable. Personally, I’m able to be in situations with alcohol and not have cravings because I know I’m fine until I have the first drink.