Today is my day to stop

Hello All,
I’m new to the family and to be quite honest today is my first day sober. It’s not the first time I’ve attempted stopping alcohol but the second my day is overwhelming or I need to feel the burn I’m back at the store. As a matter of fact, nothing can be wrong and I’m back at the store to alter my current state of mind. I feel so energetic and lively and make people laugh when I’m drunk and it appears to not bother anyone but me. However, alcohol has taken everything from me and I’m basically starting over again from scratch. I have one DUI back in 2017 and haven’t gotten another but I still feel like it wasn’t enough damage done, I guess. I just got my apartment and I just pray that I can be strong enough not to fail myself and my kids again. Sorry for the life story but Thank you for hearing me out

15 Likes

Welcome Ressa :smiling_face: glad you’re here

3 Likes

Hi and a warm welcome to you :raising_hand_woman:
fall-e1418105140873

5 Likes

Welcome to the family. Whatever you’re feeling or going through…we know how it is too. You aren’t alone.

I am currently finding things a day to day proposition…just for today…I won’t drink. I can only focus on today. But in reading these forums I know sobriety is very hard at first but gets easier with time and practice.

4 Likes

Welcome to the group. Lots of good sober ideas are shared. Im still new myself.

3 Likes

Thank you guys so much…. Just with the little support I’ve been given today, I have the strength to keep going. You guys are amazing!

5 Likes

I have quit alcohol last July with This Naked Mind. Go check it out if you haven’t. There 30 day alcohol experiment is free and helped me tremendously after not knowing how to get out.
For the burn I recommend ginger beer. It was my go-to in the beginning, and it was a great alternative. Now I don’t even bother anymore.