Triggers - when people close to you stop talking to you with no explanation

Hi,

I am new to recovery. Day 11.

I have been doing ok. Except someone close to me (a so called good friend) has stopped talking to me with no explanation.

I do not want to overthink it. But it hurts and it is triggering me. I have asked unemotionally for clarification and no response.

Any one experienced the same and how did you cope?

Thanks.

4 Likes

That sounds frustrating. What do you think happened?

1 Like

I’m not sure where you live but with the turmoil we are all going trough right now it’s possible this person is just overwhelmed and stepping back from everything. I totally understand at 11 days you’re feeling raw and concerned it’s about you but it may be something very different.

Try to check in with them and make sure they are okay.

If it IS about you then walk away with your head held high. But maybe they are going through something and can use a friend like you to help them out.

:heart:

2 Likes

Ffs.

No. Just fucking no.

If it IS about you, listen to what they have to say and take it on the chin. Dont just walk away with your head high because that’s the kind of thing that self-righteous addicts do. Chances are you’ve probably messed them about and they’re sick of your shit.

You’re an addict in your first 2 weeks of recovery - Its uncomfortable, its difficult and you’re going to hear some shit about yourself that you dont like. Dont just avoid it; face it.

3 Likes

Very good point…BUT…I was picturing a scenario where someone just didn’t want to hang with a sober person. I didn’t want OP to think that they needed to give up sobriety to keep friends. “Head held high” was meant as a “you’re doing the right thing getting sober now and don’t you ever forget that”.

:heart:

2 Likes