Trying a new approach

Hi everyone!
This is my first time posting, but I have definitely been reading. Today I am 49 days sober, and your posts are really helping me get through this. Not feeling alone in this means so much. Back in September, I realized that I have been somewhat successful with quitting for bits of time here and there, but I would consider myself a “dry drunk” during those times. Not drinking, but also not dealing with any of the issues driving me to drink. I want to quit, but I also want to learn how to be happy and thrive without alcohol. I decided to start seeing a therapist then. It was very scary admitting to another person, other than my husband, that I am an alcoholic. It felt great though and brought on so many emotions. Just talking to someone else about it was a huge step for me. I have never attended an AA meeting and have been very much against it in the past. I’m a super private person, and due to my career/life, I just didn’t feel comfortable making that extremely public leap. I also felt odd about the higher power aspect of it, but have learned that I can develop my own interpretation of my “higher power”. My therapist understood my fears and asked to go with me to my first meeting this evening. I’ve tried it my way for far too long, always ending with the same results. I feel like even if I determine this isn’t for me, at least I know I tried it! I never want to look back and think there was more that I could have done, but made up my mind I was “too good” for it, without even giving it a chance. I need to get over this “ego” issue, because that is all it is! I am very, very nervous about this though. I just needed to vent that. I tend to build things up way too much in my head lol. I’m really trying guys, but I’m terrified. Hopefully, this will be a positive experience and a good lesson that something so scary to me is actually worth the attempt. Thanks for hearing me out!

10 Likes