Using substances to self medicate mental health issues

I live with Major Depressive Disorder. I realized since stopping my pain medication and alcohol, I was using it to self medicate. It made me sleepy and I could sleep and not face the everyday numbness I feel. Anyone else relate?

2 Likes

Absolutely…look for a dual diagnosis group they can help with depression and alcohol.

Yes, I can relate. I have severe recurrent MDD, anxiety disorder and an unspecified mood disorder (doesn’t fit bipolar) and premenstrual dysphoric disorder. I have been on multiple meds, multiple intensive therapies of all kinds. I guess I used alcohol to medicate, but to be honest being sober has not improved my conditions. It has helped the rest of my life though! I have been being treated for over 10 years, I am still suicidal monthly but Im dealing. Giving up means death and thats not an option. So onward I go.
Do your best, and then keep doing better. Not giving up on treatment is what Ive found to be most helpful. Its hard! :heart:

2 Likes

I can totally relate. I used to drink to stop the sharp pains in my chest from anxiety or to get through bouts of depression. That is to say - all the time!

It works like a band aid to to temporarily patch up the problem and keep it out of sight, but makes everything so much worse when I wake up the next day!

1 Like