What if a good day is your trigger

I am new to all of this and am finding myself struggling and eventually resetting after staying sober for only a week or two at a time. I have read that you should know your triggers and try and avoid them, however the things that trigger me are usually having a good day with my family and then wanting to celebrate that feeling when we get home with a drink, which turns into 6… Anyone have any suggestions on how to avoid this feeling without missing out on the good times with my husband and kids?

2 Likes

Hello. Nice to make your acquaintance! I’m 94 days sober. For me it’s not taking that first sip or mind altering substances no matter what. I’m still new in my recovery and I avoid being around anyone drinking as much as possible. In my opinion, if the ones we love do not have an issue with addiction, they should not mind being sober with us.
My triggers are vast and I attend the rooms of NA and AA. Have you tried it?

1 Like

I know exactly how you feel… I am on day 18 and I have been finding it really hard to change my way of thinking about how to celebrate… to be stressed… angry… happy… I always dealt with every emotion known to man with alcohol…I am learning to literally take one day at a time… and every new day is a massive step forward. . Best wishes

2 Likes

Unfortunately my husband enjoys drinking still. I try and remind myself that this is my sobriety but it is challenging when it is still always around. He supports my decision but is not interested it making the change for himself. I haven’t tried any meetings in person but am try WFS online. Thank you for replying, it is much easier knowing I’m not at this alone!