100 days sober - my story

Hi all, Happy New Year!

So a rambling post from me and I think the point of it is to offer some hope. To me, and to anyone who it may help.

I’ve been drinking for 25 years. It started as a social thing and became something I just do during the majority of my free time. I don’t class myself as an alcoholic but I struggled to go a day without drinking. I wouldn’t drink to the point of blacking out but it’s fair to say my consumption is increasing. If I tried to not drink in the week it meant I drank harder at the weekend. It doesn’t stop me functioning, keeping my job, looking after the house and my two kids. But, with retrospect, it makes me less present for all of these things and makes me grumpy and angry at myself as a result.

As I write this I question my judgement that I’m not an alcoholic! But, the trigger for me trying 100 days sober were many. Probably the clearest is the disturbed sleep, accepting it’s ok to wake up with increased heart rate, hot and with a headache. And looking physically grey and washed out.

So, I stated to my wife that I was going to do 100 days sober. The idea seemed impossible. How could I if I could barely go 1 day without! The first few days were hard, I have routine and passing the beer by when I would typically have reached for one was hard. I filled the gap with positive stuff. At first, just not drinking was the goal. If it meant sitting in front of the tv all night, that was fine. Just don’t drink!!