16 days sober today

Today I am 16 days clean and sober. I feel much better on the one hand and a little lost on the other. I was a high functioning alcoholic for a long time but I’m now 50 and over the last 5 years it got much worse. I have, lost jobs, relationships, lots of money and of course my health. I know there are a million reasons to stay sober and no reasons to drink again but I feel a little like I lost my best friend. I am also a part time musician and
play a lot of gigs where there is free alcohol. I don’t want to give up playing gigs as it brings me a huge amount of joy, but I’m nervous about putting myself in those situations. I feel cursed.

14 Likes

Welcome, Joe! Congrats on 16 days. I was a long time drinker as well. Chronically relapsed until I finally got my mindset changed. Thought I was losing a good friend, which is a natural part of the process, but that “friend” was really a wolf in disguise. TS is a big part of my recovery. I hope you find this forum as helpful as I have. Lots of threads to explore. Best wishes!:heart:

5 Likes

Hey man, I can relate to how you’re feeling. It was like I lost a friend when I quit too.

The thing that helped me was to change my relationship with alcohol.

I wrote about my process here. Maybe it can help you too.

I am also a musician and initially felt that I couldn’t be sober AND perform, but it’s totally possible! Since getting sober I’ve done more musically than all the years before. I’ll even say playing music is better sober, I am more focused and present. I actually live in the moment. Before I could barely recall even playing live…

Anyhow, welcome and stick around!

5 Likes

Welcome to the community Joe and great work on your 16 days of sobriety. I know exactly how you feel - the loss of a loved one or a best friend when you give up a life long addiction. Think of it as a toxic relationship that you are now healing from.