1st attempt at soberiety

Hey guys Day 1
This is my first time ever seeking support and advice for my 15 year addiction to alcohol and 10 year old addiction to methamphetamine. The thing that has shocked me into action was the realisation that I am totally and undeniably a SLAVE to my addiction and I can feel my spirit eroding every time I indulge my demons. So for the first time in my life I’m admitting I am an addict to the one person who needs to hear it, me.
So if you kind folks have ANY advice please I’m all ears and in need of wisdom (even the simplest things like where to lay my boundaries, restructuring your life,support/rehab literally any knowledge that will help me work toward Sobriety.Thank you for reading this

10 Likes

Welcome Marly! :wave:

For me, sobriety (and health generally) has been about learning the basic human skills I ignored in my addiction. These are things like: how to “ride the wave” of life events and emotions, without running to my addiction to numb them; how to have self-awareness and set goals and work toward them; how to work together & relate to other people; and how to communicate my emotions to others, and to listen to others communicate theirs (this is especially true with my wife - learning to live present, and clear [sober], and learning to communicate like that, has saved our marriage). There are other things too but these are the ones that stand out.

I’ve used a combination of tools, including counselling, adult ADHD support groups (I have ADHD), and sobriety groups. I’ve also sought medical and psychiatric assessments (I have mild depression which I numbed with my addiction; I’m now treating it effectively with medication and counselling).

I’d suggest checking out some groups in your area:

https://www.na.org/meetingsearch/

There’s also online meetings if you prefer (there’s so many of these you can usually find one any time of day):

https://virtual-na.org/