6 weeks sober from weed and still suffering from side effects

I’m new here and a bit nervous to post.
So I’ve been smoking weed for 15 years straight and now have been sober for 6 weeks. I left it all behind me when I went away on holiday. I got rid of everything before I left and came back to trying my best to create a new lifestyle.
The first couple of weeks were the hardest, pushing through the irritability and extreme anxiety (anxiety which I generally suffer from anyway due to the medication I take and a medical condition I have had since I was 10) but they have started to die down but two of the other side effects are still on going and are really bothering me. The first is night sweats, they’re horrible, they disrupt my sleep as I wake up covered and as you can imagine leaving me feeling pretty grim.
The second is the worst the vivid dreams and nightmares.
Some of which I cant honestly make out where my subconscious gets all it from because honestly some of them are a little disturbing for my mind. I sometimes wake up in the morning and sit on the edge of my bed contemplating if there is something wrong with me.
I guess I was just wondering if anyone else here has been going through the same thing? I feel like I can’t talk to anyone around me about this which makes me feel rather alone.
Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

7 Likes

Hi :wave:
Welcome to them community :raising_hand_woman:

I smoked for many years like you. Been well over 5 years since I stopped.
It was hard at first but definitely gets easier.
I vaguely recall when I quit I dreamt again and they were vivid as I just didn’t dream before whilst smoking.
6 weeks is huge congratulations :tada:
Hope to see you around and no need to be nervous it’s full of caring and supportive people here :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

Well done for your five years :slightly_smiling_face:
And thank you I feel like quitting has been horrendously overdue for me.