8 days sober and then relapsed

Hello everyone,

Im new to this and am trying to get sober for my future. I want to get better for myself, my health, and to start a family. Ive got a complicated past with addiction and i wouldn’t say im alcohol/drug specific its more whatever i can get my hands on. It holds me back from joining AA or other anonymous groups because im not hooked on anything specific, the experiences ive had haven’t led me to find a recovery group thay fits my needs. Because of this i do feel very isolated and alone. I am proud for achieving 8 days without drink or drugs but i have just relapsed on alcohol because for obvious reasons its the easiest to obtain! I have to spend a lot of time alone as my partner works late nights and i work a 9-5. Wondered if anyone out there had any advice or similar experiences?

7 Likes

Narcotics anonymous meetings could be a good place to start, just look online at the zoom meetings you don’t have to say anything or show your face even if you don’t want to. You can just listen and see if you can relate. It’s about the disease of addiction, not a specific substance or behavior so I think that sounds a lot like what you are looking for. There are meetings 24/7 all over the world. It’s worth just looking at so you can see if it is something you would be interested in.:v:&:heart_hands:

https://virtual-na.org/meetings/

3 Likes

Hey welcome :wave:
I didn’t necessarily go to heaps of meetings, I know you can access them online too and f that’s easier for you.
Something that helped me a lot- I read HEAPS of quitting books, they helped me immensely in my early sobriety, in my many attempts at quitting many vices. Quit like a woman, Alan carrs easy way to quit, sober diaries, this naked mind. There’s tonnes. You can search them in this app too. Sober pod casts.
Honestly, if you want to see some change, do your research. Get prepared for how your going to feel while you ride the early sobriety waves.