Acupuncture, Anxiety and Alcohol

So, before I get into the main reason for this post, I feel that I need to provide a little back story, so hang in with me…

I have been struggling with anxiety and depression all through high school and college during which time I was on different medications and had been in therapy for 7 years. When I graduated from college, I left a severely toxic, long term relationship, moved back home, and had successfully worked through everything from the past that I needed to in therapy. When I moved back home, I was in such an amazing place (not counting when I was not sober, unfortunately) - but in general I actually never knew I had the ability to be genuinely happy.

Unfortunately, about a year and a half after I moved home, October 11, 2016, I was raped by a married friend of my boyfriends and mine which set me back on the path of self destruction and despair. My anxiety and depression came back full force. I started therapy again, specifically to deal with that situation but a friend also suggested I go to acupuncture.

Well, I can say acupuncture has completely changed my life, so much so that I’m actually going to pursue it as a career and start schooling for it within the next year. Not only has it helped me significantly with my anxiety but also with alcohol cravings. I highly recommend acupuncture to anyone who may be looking for extra alternatives to help with cravings of addiction. I just had another session today and it gave me the boost of strength I needed to continue through the week sober, healthy, and happy.

I’m open to any questions regarding my personal experience with acupuncture and alcohol.

3 Likes

I’ve thought about trying that but was always nervous :grimacing: