Addicted to Lactose?

I’ve been having a tough time lately battling my addiction. I’ve been attending SAA meetings since July of 2022 and am almost eight months in. Starting step 4 has been on my list for about a month now and I haven’t been able to get going. (Procrastinate much?)

I’ve had no relapses and have done a really good job of staying out of my middle circle. Outer circle activities have been going well and keeping me occupied. But I’ve noticed a new and painful new addiction.

I’ve noticed myself bingeing on ice cream, milk shakes and breakfast cereal. But I’m mildly lactose intolerant. Stomach cramping, “bathroom issues” and lethargy, generally crappy feeling. What is wrong with me!? (tears, tears, cry, sniff, sniff) I can’t stop but its sooooo good! Someone help me! Have I really replaced PMO with Cinnamon Toast Crunch… adult chat sights with Neapolitan Ice Cream… objectifying women with a Reece’s Peanut Butter Cup Blizzard?!

Do I need to attend DAA Dairy Addicts Anonymous meetings too?

Help…

1 Like

Its common for addicts to replace one addiction with another. Try to have healtier alternatives available. I still have a can of sparkling water with me wherever i go but its relatively harmless

4 Likes

Thanks @Cjp I will.

@IA_Matt
I developed a lactose intolerance about 20 years ago. There isn’t anything dairy that I can’t eat or drink, but if it isn’t plant-based, I can only have a little of it.
Have you tried non-dairy products?

2 Likes