Agnostic In Recovery

I’m an agnostic who is early in recovery. I’ve been trying to stay sober for 7 years. I keep trying to do it MY way, and I’ve finally realized that it will never work. I have surrendered at this point. I want to give AA a fair shot this time around, and I think I have the right mindset bro do it finally. But I am struggling to find a sponsor with similar views on spirituality. I don’t want a sponsor, but I know I need one. Any suggestions / help would be appreciated.

5 Likes

I’m not technically agnostic, but I’m struggling with the sponsor thing as well. I know I need one, but I really do not trust many people, and they don’t have addiction issues. I’ve also heard of some rough experiences with sponsors, though I’ve also heard good experiences. Really struggling with the sponsor thing and getting on in the steps.

3 Likes

There’s an Agnostic AA group on intherooms.com. Maybe you can attend their meeting and ask for a sponsor.

3 Likes

I could probably find a sponsor online, but I’d really like one close to where I live so we can meet up for stepwork and attend meetings together. It’s hard because most of the meetings I go to around here have Christian undertones all the time. I’m not against people who’s spirituality is rooted in their faith, but I also believe they will not be able to help me navigate the steps if they carry those beliefs…

1 Like

I’m also agnostic but my worldview and beliefs never got me clean. Adopting a Higher power is the only way forward if you want to free yourself from the bondage of self. The spiritual aspect of the programme is what makes us as its an internal job. Believing in something like a sponsor or higher power does not deter from the agnostic in me but, the addict in me always will.

3 Likes