Beginning day 3!

Hi all, newbie here. I’ve been a daily beer drinker for more than 10 years and decided to quit on Wednesday. Fortunately I ffound this app and you have all made the process so much more bearable and I thank you. I am fortunate to be on a job ( I’m a field service tech and travel) that currently has me working 12 hours a day so I haven’t had much trouble avoiding drinking. But I have had trouble sleeping, specifically due to night sweats. Is this a common withdrawal symptom and how long will it last? Thanks in advance!

5 Likes

Hi Myles, welcome to the forum, it’s a great first step. The night sweats are very common during WD, if that is your only symptom and your on three days things should start improving soon. Mine had gone by day five but it differs person to person

2 Likes

Thanks for the info! I was unaware this was a symptom and also didn’t think I would have any withdrawals (denial!!)

I’m on day 5, sweating like a racehorse all night. Days 3 and 4 were the worst, last night just woke up wet once. I think it’s getting better but expect to do a lot of laundry that first week.

1 Like

Day 8 here and the sweating is really calmed down now, and sleeping a bit better too :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Well done. I have always found that for the first 5 days you sweat profusely and it tends to get worse by the day. Day 5 for me is usually the worst and I have actually used it as an excuse, because I have a drink and it seems to stop. But then just have to do It all again. If you can stick it out you should see improvement on day 7 to day 10. Everyones different. But you know it will be worth it. I’m in the same boat doing it again. Don’t give up giving up. :grinning:

2 Likes

I am glad you decided to quit. As the weeks go on it will get better. As for night sweats I never had them. I just felt horrible for the first 4 days. Welcome and we are here for you!

2 Likes