Binge drinking and the cycle

Hello. I’m new to this and just added the app today. I’ve struggled with drinking on and off for the past 14 years, and I’m only in my early 30s. I think the reason I always cycle back to old behavior is because it is hard to find the support I need. Society as a whole seems to target treating one type of alcohol problem: alcoholism. By the medical definition, this means you are physically addicted to alcohol and will be symptomatic if you stop use. However, bingers do not fall into this category. Further, if you go to AA, it is filled with personal accounts of ones dependence on alcohol daily. Again, not an issue for the binger, who in my case feels immediately excluded and questioning if I truly have a problem. But I do! You see, I can go days, weeks and months without a desire to drink at all. And I won’t. And sometimes, I can have 1-2 drinks and stop, simply because I don’t feel like drinking more. However, when it hits, and I don’t know when it’ll be, I way overdue it. I drink in excess and become a sloppy idiot. It’s embarrassing and I will self loathe and hate myself for days to weeks after. Why?! Why do I do this?! Then I will have a few episodes where I drink without incident. Then BOOM! I make an ass of myself again. I have a drinking problem. I want to quit. I need a support group of folks that understand and that I can relate to. And most importantly, I cannot convince myself I don’t have a problem again. Have any of you experienced this? Do you feel like it is hard to find support for binge drinking?

7 Likes

You are here: Home HERES SOMETHING I READ ON LINE HOPE IT HELPS
My Story About Giving Up Binge Drinking