Coping mechanisms you use to stay sober

Hi, I’m Katie. I’m 22 and I’ve been sober from alcohol for about 4 days now, and I’ve been sober from other substances for a few weeks (but I’m not really keeping track of those).

I got sober because I’m trying to be better for myself, and trying to be better for myself means that I’ve gotten put on a few psych meds that interact negatively with pretty much anything recreational, and it causes me to self-destruct, which in turn hurts the people around me.

I wanted to start a thread about coping mechanisms you’ve found that help you, no matter how weird or small you might think they are. I’m still fairly new to this sobriety thing, so I could really use all the help I can get. One of the coping mechanisms I’ve found thus far is drinking plain sparkling water (Liquid Death’s sparkling water helps a lot) whenever I want to have a drink because it has a bit of a bite to it, but it doesn’t leave you intoxicated or lower your inhibitions, plus it’s water so it’s actually good for you! Plus, Liquid Death is a good brand to drink around other people because the can kind of helps you to fit in if other people around you have a beer in their hand.

Can’t wait to hear what coping mechanisms you guys have!

TL;DR: Still new to this sobriety thing, looking for coping mechanisms to get me into the habit of not drinking. I’ve been drinking sparkling water.

7 Likes

I have been doing meditation, working it into my routine:

www.InsightTimer.com

I find it helps me “ride the waves” of life, to keep grounded and not get swept away. :innocent:

2 Likes

I also stopped drinking because of meds although it took me a long time to figure out that was an issue and even longer to figure out that no as it turns out I just can’t moderate cause if I have one im gonna have a whole bunch more.