Could exercising be in my middle circle?

I’m unsure but wonder if working out is a possible early warning sign that I’m about to act out. A FB memory popped up of me working out and it was shortly before a known time period of inner circle behavior. I know I had been exercising not long before my most recent relapse as well. I’ve been losing weight since 2020 and have hit a huge milestone even without working out for awhile. I’ve been wanting to start up again and I’m not sure if I should. How sad is that?! Not knowing if it’s an issue as well as if it is that I have to limit an activity that is beneficial to my physical health. Has this happened to anyone else here?

Edited to add: I’m a sex addict.

3 Likes

Welcome to the community :raising_hand_woman:

Are you exercising so much that your causing your body more strain and stress than good that it begins to affect your mental health in an unhealthy way ?
Im not sure if I’m understanding your post correctly :blush:

1 Like

Exercising is not in your middle circle. Exercising - the physical act of doing healthy exercise - can take many, many different forms. Exercising is not a problem. In fact, it is required. It’s like eating vegetables. It is necessary for healthy living.

What you’re going through sounds like euphoric recall: the process of romanticizing memories of acting out. Euphoric recall is relatively common, especially in early recovery.

If it helps, change up your exercise routine. There is lots of exercise you can do outdoors and at home, without ever having to get to a gym.

And hit up a meeting. There are loads of SA, SAA, or SLAA meetings online - you should be able to find one easily.

Welcome to Talking Sober!

1 Like