Daily routines

Hello everyone! I am looking for suggestions on a daily routine that works for you? I am a retired professional company dancer and along with that went my daily routine. I wake with anxiety and fall asleep with over thinking. I want to read the big book and my other books of my choosing as well as work out, general work and my AA meetings. I am currently on day 33 of sobriety and it’s important for me for that to be my priority.

Any thoughts or guidance would be helpful!
Thanks!!
Alicia

10 Likes

Congrats on 33 days! That’s huge!

I imagine, since you were a dancer, you’re no stranger to being a disciplined person. And it sounds like you already know what you wanna do so … do what you listed: read the literature, go to meetings, work out, etc.

For me, initially, I had to baby step my routine until it came naturally. I also had to force myself to go to meetings especially when I didn’t want to. I certainly spent lots of time at dealers’ places so I gotta chase my recovery the same way.

Best of luck. I believe in you!

5 Likes

I just started bible study. Psalm 8. I enjoyed it. I have the Experiencing God Bible and it has questions in each chapter. I took time to answer. It was good for me. I haven’t done that in a while.

2 Likes

Congrats on 33 days.
Perhaps you could look into some guided meditations especially surrounding dealing with anxiety

1 Like

Maybe ask at your meetings if anyone works out or goes walking can gang up and have company , maybe start a dance class at your local community hall use your experience , wish you well

3 Likes

I need routine. If a day is easy then I can go easy through the day. If a day is difficult I have a routine to fall back to.