Debt In Sobriety

So for a good 11 years of my life I drank to cope with my circumstances living under the roof of a family member that truly didn’t want me,no guidance to navigate my teen yrs,making decisions to fit in with peers all that to say now as a well I feel like a lost big kid/adult for the lack of better words I’m now facing a nice debt for a credit card I regret but got before I got sober and I feel all I’ve done this year is stress myself out and the movies and treating myself was the one night I wasn’t stressed :smiling_face_with_tear: and this morning I feel heavy and I hear often it gets better in sobriety I feel I need so much prayer or whatever because I do want to feel hopeful in my recovery moving forward because I know I can do it !

10 Likes

I have debt also from a few different sources. Maybe u can relate, but debt is like a black cloud that just follows me wherever i go lol im in my first year of recovery and i have begun making financial amends and that is the only thing that is easing that black cloud and that feeling of financial despair. With my credit card i have actually spoken to the bank and they had ways to assist me in being able to work on paying it off. For example i was able to apply for a lower interest rate, that way more of my money is going to the actual bill instead of the interest. This has helped me so far. Also, i had to sit down and make a budget to see where my money is actually going. I started to be abit more frugal and tried picking up more shifts at work. It seems daunting paying back large amounts of money but just plug away at it month by month. The feeling is soo rewarding not having that on our backs.

5 Likes