Fast Food day 1

Day one on fast food addiction. I thought I was just being lazy, but I just found myself on the verge of stealing my friends credit card to place an order. I can cook. I have access to food. I don’t know how I got here. I never thought this was something that could be a legitimate addiction, not until I almost stole from my best friend to feed it for no reason.

Day 1 starts now. Lets see if I make it to day 2 without doing something thatll make me hate myself.

17 Likes

Hi Nas
Good to see you here. Welcome to the community.
I’ve done a lot of reading about brain chemistry in relation to my own addiction (alcohol) and have come to the conclusion that anything that gives us a dopamine hit has the potential to become addictive. Whether the buzz comes from a substance or a behaviour, our brain responds in the same way.
I’m no expert, but I’d suggest the general advice you read on this forum will be relevant and can be applied to your own addiction. Above all else, the strength and love from this community is empowering.
One day at a time.
Hope to see you around X

10 Likes

Welcome to the community! :heart:
Fast food can be very addicting. I use to eat fast food all the time, Mostly Mcdonald’s. It’s easy, quick and it use to be cheap. When I stopped it was the salt that I craved. I try to prep my food for the week in advance or have easy things to snack on cause I’m not big on cooking lol

You said you can cook. Do you like to bake too? Maybe you could task yourself with making breads or cakes to help the time go by.

4 Likes

Right on Louise. I agree the dopamine hit is at the core of our addictions whether its drugs,alchohol or a process addiction. You and Jennifer are giving @nas some good guidance. I don’t know much but I do know that addiction to anything is a bear. Easy does it nas.

6 Likes

Welcome to the community. I hope this forum will be useful to you.