Fentanyl.....questions

I’m a drinker so while I am fully aware of the fentanyl crisis I have no experience or understanding. It is becoming quite an issue in our community. A 14 year old at my daughter’s school just died last week from it.

Is there any former opioid and/or fentanyl users here that might be able to give me some advice to keeping my daughters away from this? Is there something you wish someone had said or done with you that might have kept you away?

Fortunately right now my daughter is not at risk…however the girl who died apparently died after her first use. Foolishly she thought it would help her get over breaking up with her boyfriend.

:cry:

1 Like

I am a recovering opioid user. I started when I was 13. Honestly stay away from the drugs are bad and this is what they do just be honest and up from with her tell her how much u love her and trust her and that your just worried about her safety. I’m not saying that it was like this for everyone but I knew my parents didnt care… drugs and cutting were my way of escaping and feeling better or number to the reality that I lived. I never believed that death could happen to me I was invincible. No one ever thinks it could happen to them… until it to does…

1 Like

Thank you.

The interesting thing is that I think the kids know that this can kill them…they don’t care. At least this girl was apparently saying it couldn’t be worse. She would either be “happy” or she would be dead…both were better than being miserable.

That makes me so sad.

There’s been a few other stories in the news from recovering addicts that say they knew it could kill them but they felt so awful when not on the drug they didn’t care…they just needed that fix to feel “normal” again.

I’m not naive to what this drug is doing…but I was naive to the prevalence in our nice upper middle class suburban neighbourhood.