First day. I know the most important for me is to get a hobby, but what?

Hi guys! I’m on my first day quitting drinking. I have never tried before. My drinking has never been daily, I usually drink two times a week, but I always then drink to the point of blacking out and doing stupid things that is ruining my life.

I’ve been thinking of quitting for several years, but never decided to do it until now. I’ve been depressed for a long time and haven’t seen the point of it since my life has been sh*t anyway and I felt it’s to late.

However, I now feel I want to really try. I mean I only have one life, and things can at least only get better, and never worse, trying to be sober.

Since this is something I’ve been thinking about for such a long time I’ve also had the time to do som soul searching and research.

I feel a big reason for my drinking is because my life is pretty empty. I dont have a lot of friends or family I can spend my time with, and I do have a big lack of freetime due to living inconveniently.

With that said, I am pretty sure I have to get a hobby to make this. Because I think me not doing anything except working and being home alone is a big problem. So I guess my question is if you have any advice? Everything I have thought of seems either really uninteresting to me or to expensive and/or doesn’t work with my daily schedule… (mostly it’s just that it seems boring, so I guess I’m a boring person :rofl::wink:)

I must say that finding this app and reading through the forum is what made me decide this. You guys are all so strong! <3

13 Likes

Welcome. We are with u. One day at time, u know. God bless u.

1 Like

Thank you. I wish you well :blush:

Hi. Welcome. Well done for your choice to change your life.
Regarding hobbies, was there anything you liked as a kid that you would like to follow up on?