Food Addiction Recovery. Not sure where to start but starting

I’m here because I don’t want to feel alone. I’m just beginning to learn and process that food addiction is real and serious. Thank you for being part of a community of support and growth.

I’m 25 and I’ve struggled all my life with weight and anxiety. But over the past couple years, those conditions have reached intensities that scare me.

I was heaviest at 255lbs at 20yrs old, having been large all my life to that point. Then something changed, I lost some weight having worked as a cook at a resort (structured meals, long hours). Following that job, I rode that wave, and committed to my health. I educated myself and discovered the healthful power of whole plant foods and veganism. I exercised and ate remarkably well and over 2 years lost 100lbs, settling at around 140lbs. I felt great, I did yoga, I meditated, I quit my job as a cook and went to school for Ecosystem Management, met incredibly inspiring people and learned so much about our world and our place in it. I really don’t understand why I always felt so miserable.

I think it stemmed from social anxiety but more so perhaps a lack of an understanding of my ego. Especially having a this new experience of being small; it gave me confidence, I was more sociable and people liked and listened to me for what felt like was the first time. My ego became so fragile, I couldn’t enjoy anything. I was jovial around people but perpetually on edge just under the skin.