Has anyone used Naltrexone?

Has anyone used Naltrexone? I started using it last night and woke up this morning feeling so nauseous and had to puke. Will this go away or is this a common thing?

Thanks in advance!

Morgan

2 Likes

Welcome to the neighborhood! Lot of love and supportive. As for the medication. I am NOT a doctor but i have worked with numerous clients that have utilized naltrexzone to curve alcohol & opioid cravings. I have had a very few that reported nausea but they all said it passed after their bodies began to adjust to the medication and post acute withdrawal symptoms. I would keep a journal for your doctor and report these symptoms to them to see if you should stay the course or try another medication. I know there are other individuals on here that are taking that medication so hopefully you will get more feedback. What other steps are you taking to sustain your abstinence?

Godspeed. Hydrate. Stay with us. There is some very solid recovery on this forum. :100::heart:

Hey Morgan,

Welcome to sobriety and congrats on starting! There’s another recent post on this but no reports of nausea. Are you taking this for alcohol?

I do know that it is not advised to start naltrexone for at least 10 days post sobriety from alcohol otherwise it is likely to cause nausea. If your sober date it right and you used it last night, maybe it was slightly early?