Having a hard time this week

Hi all, 20 days sober (recovering sex addict) but having a really hard time this weekend. My week was emotional ups and downs (I work in sales and landed an account my company has been chasing for years, also got another really big lead for next week; but also I’m behind with my PD training and my business plan for next year, and my boss called me about that and wants to meet with me on Monday morning about it), and I had two nights where I was freaking myself out so much I laid in bed in the foetal position and whimpered. I was terrified. I still am afraid, of messing everything up, of not being able to create and follow through on a plan, and also dropping the ball on these big leads, failing to execute properly. Planning is part of my job and it is the part I am most scared of because I don’t have (or don’t feel like I have) much success in it - even going back to my days in school. I have been tempted to go and sink into relapse but so far am holding it together, and I am reaching out here. I feel afraid that I will mess it up. I feel incapable and I am unsure where to start, and especially I am not sure how to handle these emotions in healthy ways. I am getting out of the house now, going to a mall food court, hoping that active environment will help keep my mind off this, or at least keep me safe from relapse. Any tips you guys have for these hard times?

8 Likes

Hi,I know it’s not easy but just stick with it I’m day 20 aswell off of heroin n benzos my emotions have been like a roller coaster ride tbh,regards to work just follow through on what u can do and get done the energy you waste on worrying put that into action and get things done once you get home after a break at the mall,grab some good food good rest wake up tomorrow still clean and 3 weeks tomorrow wow what an achievement and get down to preparing to see boss on Monday u can do this you are doing it stay focused and stay connected.al the best

2 Likes