How do I help my bf in sobriety

So my bf and i have been Together for a year and 7months he’s 12 yrs older than me and he’s been drinking since he was 9 he has currently been doing a lot of self harm since he’s been sober and he’s been very insecure we both have 2months sober and I’m trying to be as supportive as possible but he doesn’t want to go to AA he’s in therapy but doesn’t wanna go to a behavioral health hospital or detox. I live in a transitional house while he’s been living at home doing it cold turkey on his own but his depression is really getting the best of him. This week he did say he would try AA today was a great day since we had a visit yesterday and i gave him an ultimatum if he doesn’t get help i would leave him.

6 Likes

I think you have to want to get sober. I feel you have to hate what you have become so much you have to want it. I don’t think you can force someone to want to be sober. This is just what I feel, I’m relatively new to this 76 days sober myself. But for me giving me ultimatums wouldn’t have helped me. I feel you have to hit your rock bottom and want to be sober so bad you do it. If he truly wants to do it for himself then you can help him. Again just my thoughts. A lot of people on here know more than me lol.

9 Likes

By the way congratulations on being two months sober! That’s awesome!

3 Likes

Thanks. Congratulations to you as well on 76 days! That’s what I’ve told him and myself as well he needs to want it and i can’t help him he he doesn’t help himself especially when I’m on my own journey

4 Likes

Thank you! And exactly you are on a journey yourself I couldn’t imagine having to try to carry someone else. Honestly it takes all I have to stay strong in my own journey. I feel you have to take care of yourself before you can take care of anyone else.

3 Likes

Yes most definitely, i agree.

2 Likes