How do you Sponsor?

I have been sponsoring members of the Fellowship of AA for over 17 years.
The reason I started this topic is not to teach sponsorship, I am no expert, but, to reach out to all Sponsors in this community to share their knowledge, positive and negative; so other members of our community can benefit from our experience, as they embark on what can seem a daunting journey sponsoring and supporting a new comer through the 12 steps.
Hopefully they will learn how to avoid the pit falls we have faced, and so be better equipped to help their sponsees to achieve lasting and fulfilling sobriety.

8 Likes

I sponsor others in the way I was sponsored because I do not know any other way. I make myself available to men in need of a sponsor. I start at the beginning of the book. I do not force them to go to meetings or do anything. I explain that I got sober by doing those things and it worked for me. If they would like to get sober they can do the same things and I will be there every step of the way.

3 Likes

Sometimes sponsorship can be just placing ideas and waiting patiently until they take root and flower, not forgetting to keep them spirituality and emotionally fed and watered.

4 Likes

Well…i no longer Sponsor anyone in AA as I have transitioned to Recovery Dharma. How I sponsored the men I did depended on where they were at and what they needed. I required nothing out of them, as it was their program. Each one was different.

5 Likes

I totally agree, each sponcee is different, you have to be lead as much as you lead, it’s generally a two way street; done well both parties benefit.

3 Likes

@Lezourez thanks for this topic. I recently finished my 12 steps and am not ready just yet to sponsor but im interested in learning others methods so im ready in a few months

3 Likes

That’s so awesome Bootz. What a tremendous commitment to service.