How long until you went back out?

I had an invite to go out with friends tonight to see a band at a bar. I said no. ( In My head it was No Fucking way! ) I am just not ready. Honestly dont
know when or if I will be. Going to a bar just sitting there not drinking and having to shout over everyone seems awful. In the past, any excuse to go out and drink was enough.
Anyone else able to go back out after some time? I want to socialize, but honestly being at a bar seems terrible to me.
I do have plans to go kayaking tomorrow, which I am really looking forward to.

14 Likes

It took me a year.

I’m also a gigging musician amateur adult. I didn’t do anything for almost a year out of fear.

Short story I met a lady, and we started chatting I said that I didn’t drink, so she asked why I said well cause I’m a raging alcoholic that’s why. She was a drinker, and asked if I minded so I said no. Sne said If I got too uncomfortable to tell her we could leave.

We went out every Friday before I went to work to check out the local music scene. And every Monday to another local place for trivia night I wouldn’t drink alcohol, instead had a coke or whatever.

It really depends on you, how comfortable you feel. Do I think I could have went earlier sure, but things to take note of

1. Have a accountability partner
  2. Have an escape plan if you get uncomfortable
  3. Realize the environment your in
9 Likes

It was situational: the people, the place, the event, and where my head was at. Roughly at a year, I didnt have to over think it.

Good job on protecting your sobriety!

4 Likes

This is awesome! We need to remember that we, in most cases, don’t owe anyone our time and we certainly are not obligated to risk our sobriety for their entertainment.

It took me a couple of months before I could go out to dinner with wife and kids and feel comfortable. I didn’t go out on my own for about 3 months. It was December, I flew to So. Cal solo, and that was, not hard but I was ultra aware.