I cant seem to break the cycle

how do you initially motivate yourself to turn away from drink? Its not that I’m a habitual drinker, probably every couple weeks I grab a beer, I dont like drinking at home, but once I start I cant stop myself. usually leads into drugs and thats just expensive. How do I tackle this first hurdle because willpower alone keeps saying “eh, just one drink wont hurt you can go home afterwards”

Advice needed :frowning:

Honestly, I find that just abstaining from booze altogether is the only way I can 100% trust myself. Forever is a really long time but until I can change my mindset and relationship with alcohol and know for sure that I won’t crave drugs or drink too much then I won’t be touching alcohol and in reality that will probably never happen. I, personally, wouldn’t see the point in having one drink, I drink to get drunk. If you aren’t like that then maybe you aren’t an addict?

4 Likes

I have been in the same boat lately. I am new in recovery again and that’s been the hardest part for me, finding ways to motivate myself to stay away from the drugs. As of now all I have been doing to stay on track is “playing the tape” in my head of where using brings me and all the people I end up causing harm to, ultimately myself. I’ve come to realize all I do when I’m using is let myself down time after time.

4 Likes

In early recovery, some mental exercises really helped.

One is “playing the tape through.” Thinking all the way through what “one drink” will lead to or has led to in the past. Another drink? A hang over? Doing or saying things we regret? Feeling lethargic instead of healthy? A full on relapse with all that and worse?

And what if you don’t? Clear headed, bushy tailed, focusing on progress instead of collapse. Getting better instead of worse, little by little, one day at a time.