I dont know how to like people straight , its affected my relationship.I need help

Ive been an alcoholic sence i was 8 , my first hits of DMT, I was 10, my first LSD I was 11, by the time i was 14, i was put into a mental health center, because i was a mean suicial wanting to kill my father child . I continued doing , Black Beauties, Qualudes, and LSD , almost everyday i was in there. They let me out when my parents insurance ran out . THEY DID NOT HELP ME . I DONT EVEN THINK THEY KNEW .
I have been a musician and around everything my whole life. Im 57 now its been 49 years.
Over the last few years I can not drink, i throw up, after 2 good beers . Im going to stop here and say i dont understand how to be normal and be around people , and i lost my girlfriend for high stress situations , and me just caving in on myself . I need help , not to stop drinking but to be normal .

10 Likes

Neither do I. Welcome to the club! :innocent:

You’re not alone in being a musician in recovery. @HoofHearted is one too. I think he’s also a drummer? (Dan?)

It is possible to get and keep recovery. It takes daily work, sometimes hourly; it takes what it takes. It is 100% worth it.

Have you looked at a recovery group like AA or SMART Recovery? Something to get some human contact and some advice.

4 Likes

Welcome @Drummer26 im glad you found us

Being “normal” is boring. Being in recovery is amazing and possible if youre willing to put in the work.

I found sobriety after 20 years of insanity. What worked for me was finding this place and the rooms of AA

1 Like