Instead of a drink, I am here.

It’s almost 3am (well by the time I done writing this it will be 3am). I am 9 days sober. The longest I have been sober for in 2 years. My mind is running with thoughts about upcoming events which are causing a lot of stress. Normally when I get in a stressful situation I would grab a drink. Then that drink would turn into another, then another, then another and so on. Until, I either had the courage to say what I needed to say or my mind would be so numb from the alcohol that I just stopped thinking about the stressful thing.
Now, I find myself laying here wide awake. Mind racing. Itchy. Wanting to drink but I came here instead.
This is my first time posting here. I debated about coming even here. But I knew I had to find a safe place. I know I’m going to probably continue to lay here and watch reruns of whatever I can find while I scroll around on here.

16 Likes

Glad you came here instead of drinking! Better!
First weeks are hard to go trough, but if you play your cards right you never have to go trough this again. Sleep can be difficult too for a while and that itchy feeling as well :hugs:

Try not to look to far ahead. This has helped me with that:

Maybe you find it helpfull too.

This is a safe spot to be in. It’s filled with surportive people in the same boat like you. I’m addicted to alcohol as well and sober with the help of this app. So read around a bit and try to feel comfy :hugs:
If you have any questions, feel free to ask! :raising_hand_woman:

5 Likes

Thank you!

1 Like

You’re welcome :hugs:

Welcome to Talking Sober Katie! Coming to this place, posting, sharing, supporting and being being supported, has made the difference for me between failures in the past and success now. We’re truly in this together here. I hope you’ll get to experience that too. Just keep coming back. It’s a safe space for sure. Wishing you all success on your journey lady. :people_hugging:

2 Likes