It’s everywhere!

Is it me or is alcohol literally everywhere?!?!

I’m new to this, this is my first week and I’m feeling positive but I’ve never realised till now how much alcohol is encouraged. Whether I’m on social media or I’m watching a tv programme, an advert or shopping! It’s everywhere! I’m watching a morning tv programme now and they are talking about how great it would be to have a glass of cider with their breakfast! Like what?!?!

12 Likes

It is everywhere, but I think you’ll start noticing it less once you are sober longer. I’m a gaming addict and you may have noticed that gaming is everywhere too, but after 280+ days, I barely notice it anymore

6 Likes

Was watching a drama and it was drink to celebrate, drink for courage, drink when sad, drink when stressed… I swear the actors had glasses in their hands the whole time!

2 Likes

Oh yes, just look through the birthday cards in a shop. Not just alcohol but in excess. In the series “Peaky Blinders” someone knocks back a tumbler of whisky in one go in just about every scene. It’s like punctuation.:crazy_face:

2 Likes

I wanted the adrenaline, I’m an adrenaline junkie. I love height course for example.
I also had a lot of friends. I always was that kid everyone knew and liked in the rpg’s. I was always willing to help newbies. And in the shooter I played, I was one of the best free-aimers. People loved playing with me and I made a name for myself. My clips were featured on a 100k subscription channel a few times. I loved that attention. And I loved the social connection.
But most importantly, I wanted to avoid the emotional pain. I wanted to forget the abuse, the bullying, the mourning but most importantly the fact that I was ruining my life

2 Likes

And without screwing their face up!

Just cus it’s there doesn’t mean we have to be part of it.
In case you haven’t noticed it’s big business. Many people’s fortunes rely on it.