Job interview stress

I had a job interview yesterday and I’ve been constantly thinking about it. I don’t know if I did enough. I don’t know if I was too vulnerable with them. Maybe I’m not what they’re looking for. I didn’t get to say the things I wanted, the stuff I’d been rehearsing in my head, and sometimes they were picking at my answers or rubbing their head and I assumed it’s coz they didn’t like me. I’m in this horrible toxic spiral since yesterday and I just want to stop being this way. I’m 636 days sober. I should have a hang of life by now and more control over myself. I’ve seen psychologists, I read so many self help books, I studied counselling FFS!! but I still feel broken in some way. I just want to be able to take things in stride and not care so much about everything.

1 Like

My way to go about it… Mantra
“I gave what I had to give, if it’s enough it is okay if not it is also okay cause I gave all I had to give at that moment”

3 Likes

Omg!!! Give yourself a break! Job interviews are always stressful and I can assure you, any good human resource interviewer will do exactly what you mentioned. I was a HR director who hired hundreds of people in my career. You probably did great. And 636 days sober is a wonder accomplishment. Be very proud of yourself! Sounds to me that you are caring about the right things because you got yourself sober! If you get the job…great, if you don’t get the job it absolutely does not mean they didn’t like you. It would only mean someone else had a little more experience. Keep caring, be very proud and stay sober!

2 Likes

This means a lot :heart:

Thank you. I’ve been repeating it to myself and it’s helping :heart:

I’m sure you did better than you think. If nothing else you can think of it as getting experience at interviewing.

1 Like