Just weed, huh?

My last smoke was 7/7…ive been a daily marijuana abuser for over 15 yrs and an opportunist with rx meds.

After realizing weed was doing nothing but increasing my anxiety and not helping my depression, I sought professional help with the support of my spouse. I visited my PCP and have an upcoming psych appointment.

I’m a licensed master social worker, mental health professional, and a father of three. Im sick of the narrative that marijuana isn’t an addictive, unhealthy coping mechanism. I’m ready to take that next step in my life…ive quit a few times before for jobs, or when I was arrested for weed and was put on probation, but never for myself or my family.

For the past few weeks I’ve experienced severe anxiety and depression…unable to calm myself down, tense muscles and jaw, feeling down, walking around with a lump in my throat all day and weed hasn’t helped any of it. If you abuse marijuana daily, morning, day and night, I would suggest seeking help for underlying mental illness. No matter how we try to justify it, it is addictive and hard to break.

Thanks for reading, and I’ll keep yall posted.

15 Likes

thanks so much, really excited about this

I know someone who goes to AA and NA meetings and says they are clean but hides the fact she smokes weed from everyone in those groups and her boyfriend especially and the fact she got a medical card in NY shows that weed is an addictive drug and she knows it isn’t good which is why she hides it. Weed is a gateway to everything else. I started selling weed at 15 and by 16 I had a connect for every drug. It can be helpful in medical uses but for addicts it is not in my opinion. I use to think it was fine but then I went to benzos that I was prescribed and I saw I was taking more every day and would run out a week or two before my next refill. It’s a gateway in my opinion

2 Likes