Lack of... creativity and imagination

So, I’m a researcher. When I drank, I used to have crazy, beyond the curve ideas for research and writing. I could, madly, think about the world itself and find something wrong that deserved some explanation, “to begin when I stop this binge.”

Now it’s been a month and 12 days clean and I see such creativity and imagination waning. I don’t know if it’s a collateral effect from the meds, but I feel like… “Things are just the way they are”. I could pick up some productive shrapnel from a distressed, distorted mind and turn them into something. Now I’m just… paralyzed.

Talking to my peers (specially the missus) usually gives me some ideas, but I feel that the crazy, mad drive to dive myself into it kinda waned. It used to be hours of non-stop writing, then a big drinking night, repeat that the next day. The drinking was a “reward” for my production, and something that kinda made me… happy about what I did.

I guess it’s one of these topics about “what to make about our lives without using”. I needed to share this. Cheers.

7 Likes

Thank you so much for this, Liv. Thank you. It’s the best opinion article I’ve ever read. It kinda turned me upside down and back into place after reading it. I, sorry for the joke, was CRAVING for such a thing.

Big thanks!

2 Likes

Continued and prolonged alcohol abuse has profound effects on the brain’s chemistry and quitting brings these effects to the surface. You notice the acute withdrawals almost right away after quitting, uneasy feeling, night sweats, shakiness, headache, nausea etc. But the post acute withdrawals can affect you for up to a year, maybe more, this can include brain fog, fatigue, depression, anxiety etc.

Creativity is a function of the brain and in early recovery, you’re brain is still healing, so it may not work like before; give it time to heal and it will.

6 Likes

I shared this with my son, Mel. Thanks so much. :yellow_heart:

1 Like