Low energy, sober from booze

Hi folks,

I’m new to sober life. Been drinking for the past 40 years. Sometimes every second day (never daily, my body could never handle that, ever) but mostly twice per week for past couple years.
A few beers to start then straight whisky has been past few years (half a litre per eve, straight on rocks).
Question, my energy seems to be zapped and can’t motivate myself to move… I’m day 11 on, and have no desires to drink again. Nothing happened, just tired of hangovers and taking a couple days to recuperate.
I’m Semi retired for past two years living a great life on the coast of Nova Scotia, and have lots of hobbies and interests, but lately can’t find motivation to do anything even though I have some fun projects lined up.
Does this pass? Should I just allow my body some time after imbibing in booze for so long?
Appreciate any insights and apologies for long winded note.

19 Likes

Welcome to Talking Sober Nick! Glad you found your way here. Please never apologize for sharing your story, it’s what this place is here for, as well as supporting each other in our sobriety and Recovery, to learn from each other, and to have some fun too when you’re into that.

As to your question: seems to me like a simple case of your body having to readjust to being without alcohol. Give it some time. Eat well, rest well, hydrate. When it persists a visit to the doctor might be an idea.
Of course your mind needs to adjust to being sober too. Feelings of emptiness and some depression can creep in. That’s where contacts with other people become important (like us!) It will become better, just as long as you try and work on the new you (the sober you that is).

Small steps. Do one thing you like today. Repeat tomorrow. Nothing too big. Make an effort to do so. Better times will come. Rome wasn’t build in a day and one day at a time.
Welcome again and glad to have you aboard. Hope to hear/read more from you and your journey. All success Nick @Chevy55 .