McCloud's accountability and story thread

Hey everyone. I’ve been wanting to make my own thread for a while where I can post updates on how I’m doing and moving forward. There are some things I wanted a little support for. I also kind of wanted to share my story I guess. Anyway, I thought it would help if I could write out what I’m feeling, what I’m nervous about and why I was drinking.

Anyway, I’ve been drinking for about 13 years. Problem drinking for about 10. When my father died 10 years ago is when I let it get out of control. Then my mother died about 4 years ago and I just shut off and spiraled. I’m at the point now where I’m serious about quitting and have done some damage to my body. Hopefully nothing I can’t recover from. But anyway. I inherited my parents house, but alcohol was in control of me. I couldn’t keep it up, often couldn’t keep the utilities on, was always either too drunk or too sick recovering from a binge to clean or care about cleaning it. Had a few moments of clarity now and then, got jobs, worked for weeks/ a couple months here and there, started drinking again and quit going to work. That’s been going on for a few years now so the house is in absolute destroyed state. Full of garbage, humidity affecting the flooring, ceiling tiles falling down… I lived in it like that for a couple years. Reunited with an old friend who’s been helping me to stay sober, I’ve been staying with him while I get ready to sell the house so I can move and go back to school. But first I need to clear out the house. My neighbors have given me hell about taking care of the yard, I constantly get asked by strangers what I’m going to do with it (small town, people I’ve never even met somehow know me)… But I was drinking so much to hide the house from myself. I couldn’t live there sober, I had to be drunk. It brings back bad memories, it’s overwhelming. Anyway, I’m starting this week seriously working on cleaning it out. I’ll have some help from my friend. But even g