My darkness

So now that I have a little time. I thought I would go in depth with the abyss I have lived in for so long. Despite the title I won’t share all of my demons. Some of them are too painful or embarassing to share with total strangers.

My whole life since I was 16 had been one of selfishness. Substance abuse. I was a power lifter in high school. I qualified for the junior olympics. I am a Marine OIF vet. I was a brilliant student. Really intelligent.

But alcohol , weed and drugs got in the way. In the end alcohol was the main one. Every bad decision I have made was a result of alcohol being a factor. Every arrest I have had. Alcohol was a factor.

Because of me a fellow Marine got killed. I convinced him to go to a bar. He ended up crossing the road getting hit by a car. If it had not been for me convincing him. He never would have went out that night. I carry that on my shoulders.

I was accused of rape shortly after. About seven months. I was innocent. Though it took a year to bring it to a courtmartial before I was aquitted.

In all of that I just boozed heavier. I began to hate everything. A few years after I got out of the Corps. I was diagnosed with ptsd. I drank to cover that too .

The only God I ever truly served was the bottle. I was and am selfishness incarnate. When I look back. I know why I wasnt invited to friends weddings. Because I was a drunk.

It gets bad when even chatters on a chat site know you are a drunk. Call you that. When everyone around you calls you that. Funny a drunk is the last to know what they are.

I had an abusive childhood. Still fills me with rage to this day. That I can not seem to let go and heal. My grandfather wanted nothing to do with me. I grew up not knowing what grandparents really were .

I have lied , cheated and acted about as dishonorably as one can imagine. It is gravely shameful when I look back at my life.