My First Try

Hi all, very nervous newbie here. I’ve never joined anything like this before… it’s taken me a long time to admit I have a problem with alcohol, with this past year being the worst. I don’t really know what to say in this post lol do I share my story? Just reaching out because I really hit rock bottom last night and determined to get help this time and to stop drinking for good. I hope I get some replies :slightly_smiling_face:

15 Likes

Good morning @GreenGirl and welcome to an awesome sober community. Checking in here daily and regular AA meetings are the reason i just celebrated one year sober after 20 years of problem drinking.

Take a look around. There are threads for almost everything! This place is a good distraction especially in those tough early days. Hold on tight. The cravings are bad at the beginning.

Maybe write down all the reasons you want to quit so you can look back at that list when cravings hit.

Hope to see you around :slight_smile:

1 Like

Welcome to TS=Talking Sober, Green! It took me and many others here a long time to admit and then finally accept our addictions. Lots of support and resources here.

3 Likes

Warm welcome from me Sam :people_hugging: , i was at rock bottom when i came here too, i was in utter desperation for help and i got it here…it can be done…im 9 months so far…this is a safe place we all understand what its like, read around, tell us your story if and when you feel ready, its good to get it all out and be honest, im here for you as im sure many others here will be, love and hugs :people_hugging: :heart:

2 Likes

Hi Sam, welcome :slightly_smiling_face:. Share as much or as little as you like. The app has a journal feature for journaling or some people choose to start a thread about their journey. It’s a good idea to do one or the other so you can go back and read it later on.

Welcome to Talking Sober! 2023 update!

4 Likes