My life was spared

I’m new to this. I just wanted to share a little about my experience, and hopefully give others hope. I began my love affair with alcohol at a very young age. I was fun and had a great time partying. As time went by and I got older, things took a turn for the worse. By the age of 30
I couldn’t take a sober breath for years and years. If I was awake I was drinking. Mine was whiskey. I loved to drink alone and I loved to start drinking first thing in the morning. I was a very angry and violent drunk. A year ago on the night of February 3rd, I was so deeply alone, lost, broken, and my soul was in shambles and utter darkness. The only way I knew how to escape at the time was to take my own life. I got one of my guns out of my closet, Sat down on my floor, started crying, and I said out loud “I can’t do this anymore”
I made sure the the safety was off, put the gun to the right side of my head and pulled the trigger. Everything went black. I was woken up the morning of February 4th by doctors in the ICU. For some reason that I will never understand, that bullet didn’t make it through my skull. They did have to pull the bullet fragments out and staple the right side of my head back together. Spent a couple weeks in the ICU then I was sent to a psych ward. There was so much damage done to the right side of my head just from the impact of the gun. I had to learn how to walk on my right side again. I couldn’t really eat much because it hurt to open my jaw. I had a hard time forming normal sentences. I still have memory problems.