My sponsor pissed me off now I just wanna drink

My new sponsor doesn’t seem that committed to me. It’s like I have to constantly have to remind her about me. She was suppose to call me yesterday at when we were going to meet she never called so I texted her. She didn’t reply till hours later. Saying she was going to call me. It’s been 5 hours late at night and she still hasn’t texted or called me. I’m really pissed off this is the 2nd time she has done this. I hate being abandon or when somebody says they are going to do something and don’t do it. I really wanna switch sponsors.

2 Likes

I’m sorry, man. I’m new to all this…am still detoxing and haven’t even looked up meetings in my area yet (I know, I should). Is it hard/awkward to switch sponsors?

2 Likes

I agree @Longhorn that your sponsor is not fulfilling her role! And I am not surprised that you are finding it a trigger! With something as important as your sobriety you need to have a sponsor who you can rely on… look for another one…but don’t let it mean you start drinking again…:slight_smile:

3 Likes

You can always get another sponsor. Don’t give yourself a shitty excuse to get shitty.

God grant me the serenity to accept the people I cannot change, the courage to change the one I can and the wisdom to know that one is me. My thoughts. My feelings. My actions.

7 Likes

@CaptAZ and @Robketts thank y’all but I do I tell her I don’t want her to sponsor me anymore. I hate this because the first couple of times we met up she was great!

Welcome to your first steps! How are you feeling? Please don’t let this post discourage you from getting a sponsor. My first one was amazing and I honestly didn’t want to switch we just felt it was time I worked with a female instead of a male. But having a sponsor is one of the best things that happen to you,

1 Like