My story. A great read! :)

Hi, I’m Kyle and I am a recovering heroin addict. For me, that means I haven’t used drugs or alcohol since September 26, 2018.

My journey has been one of many successes but also a myriad of failures. I was raised in an upper middle class family. I had little to no struggles as an adolescent. I graduated top of my class in high school and went to UCLA. It was while in college I began drinking heavily and experimenting with drugs.

At first, this was all status quo. Everyone I knew drank and used recreationally. I suffered no ill consequences of my experimentation. I had a healthy relationship, my grades were excellent, and was getting ready to graduate early. Then I discovered OxyContin.

While I still managed to graduate, I replaced everything that brought me joy with my new love for opioids. I also used cocaine heavily. I sold drugs to support my habit, but that wasn’t enough. I started stealing from retail establishments to offset the large amounts of money I was spending on cocaine and OxyContin.

I stole from my roommates, from friends, even from my girlfriend. Very few knew I was using these harder substances, and the ones that did know were segregated from my other life as to avoid my addiction being found out.

What’s ironic is at this time, I didn’t even classify myself as an “addict.” I didn’t know any addicts and therefore, couldn’t recognize that in myself. I just fed the hedonistic beast and spent all my time and energy keeping that beast from eating my normal life.

Eventually, my double life collapsed and I lost everything. My girlfriend, my friends, my job, and my dignity. I still had my degree, though, so I opted to move away from LA and closer to my family which was in Oregon.